So, now what?

Two weeks ago I was informed I had a hearing loss and although I wasn’t surprised I was surprised it was bad enough to warrant hearing aids. I talked to the ENT and then I spent quite a bit of time with the audiologist, talked to my wife, a co-worker that has had aids for quite a few years and I have done quite a bit of internet searching (which is how I found this board) and I have been though a number of emotions, but today I ordered the hearing aids and expect to pick them up on Friday morning. The aids are the Phonak micro eXtra 100 AZ open fit.

So, now what happens? Since I’m new to this procedure I have no idea what to expect. As I understand the process the aid will be fitted physically and then programmed. What happens during the programming process besides the basic aid –to –PC connection? I do understand the programming is based upon my personal parameters, but how long does this take, and hour, two? I’m not looking for specifics, just range. What should I expect to hear? What do I do the first few hours or the first few days? Wear the aids as much as possible and go about life as usual? Or wear them just a few hours a day to adjust. I also understand some patience is required and quite possibly many visits to the audi, how does it typically take the brain (in my case an older brain) to accept the new inputs? Again, I’m not looking for specifics, just range. I trust the audiologist, but I want to be prepared mentally and to know what to expect and what questions to ask and I figure the better prepared I am the easier this transition will be.

Thanks for any help or input.

I just wanted to wish you the best of luck! Sorry, I do not have any answers. I am getting mine today.

Best of luck to you! Which one are you getting?

I posted my follow-up in this forum under :

• Digital Hearing Aids- Recommended acclimation for 1st time HAs

or you can go directly to the thread :

http://www.hearingaidforums.com/showpost.php?p=3927&postcount=6