Small hearing "in-situ" fluctuations normal?

Sometimes I’ll notice more fullness, and/OR my anxiety about losing more hearing starts to eat at me, and I become convinced I’m losing more (I have sudden hearing loss out of the blue, 6 months ago), so I’ll go in my vocal booth (soundproofed) and re-do the sensogram (Widex’s “in-situ” hearing test), and will find some 5 db shifts in both directions - better and worse. I am a music professional (mixing/producing), so my ears ARE probably super sensitive to shifts, but my paranoia has been spiking my anxiety, and heart rate and that’s not good. Anyway, are some slight shifts normal, from day to day? Or for a few days here and there? I want to try to stop obsessing and enjoy some parts of my day, but I’m definitely traumatized. Thanks

Absolutely normal in many cases. I was told by my Audi that a cold, anything sinus related, etc could easily impact hearing. Anything ent related basically. Also, there is still a bit of subjectivity in the test - especially self test. Even just being really tired can have a slight impact. If it’s 5db I wouldn’t even worry unless it’s a consistent change.

Well user172, I’d sure love to trade audiograms with ya!!! It’d make my day, you betcha!

I can empathize with your anxiety if this hearing loss is recent and you being in a profession where hearing is key.

That said, speaking for myself, my hearing varies a LOT depending on whether my aids are properly seated, AND (even wierder) depending on the weather. If there’s a drop in barometric pressure, my right ear kind of stops hearing. If temperatures go up overnight by a significant amount, both ears will start BONG! BONG BONGING!

Try to take deep breaths, relax, and KNOW that there are some remarkable solutions out there to compensate for hearing loss. No one has a crystal ball, so there’s no point in trying to second-guess your own condition.

Thanks for your response. Can you please clarify what you mean by “consistent change?”