Singers - Help/advice on strategies to still make music

Hi folks,
I’ve been a professional musician for about 40 years fronting bands as a singer and playing guitar. I’ve been wearing hearing aids for the last 5 years. Currently I have Phonak Audeo V90s and use large power domes with them. When I first started using aids I was able to take them out while playing but as my hearing has gotten worse I’ve needed to have them in.
I have a host of issues I’m dealing with. It’s gotten to the point where I don’t trust myself hearing pitch correctly. Quite often with my hearing aids in I’ve not been able to discern pitch and either have to keep playing through the changes until I feel comfortable or wing it (with not so good outcomes). Another issue is hearing myself too much and not being able to hear the music being played or other singers for blending harmonies.
I’ve started to use in ears for solo gigs with good success but don’t always have the ability to use them in all situations.
So long story not so short, I’ve contemplated giving up playing live but want to try to address all avenues of help. So, any advice/strategies any of you would like to share would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance,
Phil

The in-ear sounds promising. I assume that is a custom made. Does the in-ear use an equalizer to more or less match your hearing? Could you include the other voices in your in-ear, with yours just a little louder? It might be hard to get that right, on the fly.

Hi Don,
Right now I’m only using off the shelf In ears. The mix comes off of the board and yes, if you have a sound engineer willing to spend the time he/she can eq it to your preferences and raise or lower the volume of any of the inputs on the board. On the fly just doesn’t work unless it’s a solo thing and I have control of the board.

p

phild … lead guitarist here that very occasionally sings. Been struggling with some of this myself with playing Christian Rock in various churches for the last 15 years.