*****SIEMENS NITRO****** Woooohoooo!

I received my Siemens Nitro hearing aids last Monday. These were purchased online from the USA (eBay). I am in Australia.

I have been using HAs since Jan 2001 when I stared off with Phonak Astro CICs.

A couple of years ago I acquired a pair of Bernafon Flair 110 BTEs which I have worn daily and only used my Astro CICs as emergency back-ups. Because the Astros were killed recently by a local hearing aid repair company where I sent them for quotes for repair, I needed another pair of back-ups.

Because of my hearing loss (moderate to severe) I was told that CICs were not an option for me and BTEs were the only HAs to suit my loss levels.

Until the Siemens Nitro came along!

The Nitro Basics (6 channel - larger matrix 128/70) had been programmed to my most recent audiogram, but they have not been fitted. I had a full fitting done yesterday. The audi commented that the US dispenser did a very good job of programming the Nitros comparing to the REM she did. Also, the audi seemed to know her way around the Nitro software and any questions were quickly and professionaly answered.

A few minor adjustments done and I am extremely happy with the Nitros!

Wore them to work today - high background steady-state noise environment and I felt very comfortable with the sounds around me. More comfortable than with the Bernafon Flair 110 BTES.

No issues with feedback at all.

They have been programmed for three different levels. 1 = -3Db 2 = Normal 3 = +3Db.
They fit well and are easy to insert and remove and the program push button is easy to locate and use.

The only issue I had with feedback whistling was when I inserted them and I asked the local audi to program in the Power On Delay which has solved the insertion whistling problem.

Sounds are natural and easy on the ears. Music sounds good. Work OK on the phone too.