Sibilance in Widex Unique 440 Fusions

I am new to hearing aids and to the practices of audiologists.

I just finished testing for one week my very first pair, Audibel A4, which had about 45 minutes of seemingly careful back and forth adjustments by the audiologist. I was generally happy with them, but I didn’t know what to listen for.

From a different audiologist, without a break, I’ve just started testing some Widex Unique 440s that had about 20 minutes of tuning during a rushed fit-you-in type appointment.

With the Audibels, it took two days to tolerate my own voice. With the Widex, it has taken only a few hours. I believe this more a function of my own brain and not the aids, themselves.

I understand about the brain getting used to my own voice and to other sounds. However, my engineer’s knowledge of sound systems leads me to think that sibilance is a systems issue more than it is a hearing issue. Only the Widexes have a sibilance problem, and I consider it a severe problem. Many but not all voices sound very much like an old radio that has not been tuned in exactly. It is unacceptably annoying, and I had to remove them to listen to the news.

The loaner Audibels were set for automatic volume adjustment with manual adjustment denied. At the appointment, I thought this very odd, but yet I never felt the need to adjust it during the week. Contrastingly, the Widexes were issued with 8 volume settings available. In the lowest setting, I hear very little sibilance, but the aid is not doing enough for me at that setting.