Should I be able to trial multiple brands and models of hearing aids?

I’m a prodigious researcher so when I finally decided it was time to get my first HAs, I figured I’d just do my usual due dilligence. Unfortunately, I’ve discovered there are a million types, brands, models, sub-models, battery size/type, and features.

I have moderate hearling loss in upper frequencies but not-too-bad in the lower frequencies. I have decided on the BTE style. I’m not on a strict budget so I’ve kind of traingulated on resound ones, Phonak Paradise (or maybe Marvel) or Signia Styletto. i’d love to try offerings from Widix and some other brands but that leads me to my question…

How do you all find these audiologists that carry so many brands and let you ‘demo’ them? I’ve read many posts here to suggest this is not unusual.However, I went to one national chain audiologist for my first consult and she laid a Styletto on the counter and never once mentioned any other options. When I asked if they carried other brands, she said they can be ordered but they didn’t have any in the store. I was frustrated so went to another audiologist and she told me they could order anything but they don’t really allow you to try different ones. She only really mentioned Widex and Phonak but steered me in the direction of IIC which I’ve since learned don’t get very high marks from consumers. I never even saw the HAs she was leading me towards. She just showed me some display case with different sizes.

I guess I’m wondering what my expectations should be with an audiologist. Should they have multiple brands and models in hand and should I be able to try different ones? It seems incredible to spend upwards of $5,000 and not really get to look at much less try, various options.

Thanks in advance and apologies if I posted to the wrong forum.