Send the Phonak Marvels back

After 30 years as a Phonak customer I just returned a pair of Marvel M90s for not just one (in my opinion) but THREE fatal flaws.

1. They did not work reliably with my iPhone XS Max, an issue that Phonak acknowledges and blames solely on Apple with no fix in sight. After a 40 year career as a software engineer I have little patience for cross vendor finger pointing between two manufacturers of supposedly premium products.

2. Marvels cannot be configured to be used interchangeably between iPhones and iPads by a simple Bluetooth disconnect/connect. They MUST be totally forgotten and re-paired EVERY TIME when changing devices. Phonak’s deprecation of this functionality that was found in their previous Audeo aids is (for me) a major design flaw by their engineers.

3. Marvels are only compatible with Phonak’s latest TV Connector box, not the previous TV Link boxes. IMHO it’s a cheap way to grab an additional two hundred bucks on top of an already premium priced product. Corporate greed runs rampant.

I’ve had a pair of Oticon OPNs for a month now that rectify all of Phonaks shortcomings. Having to settle for using a ConnectClipis a small price to pay for having a RELIABLE product.

Oticon’s level of integration with the iPhone is far superior to Phonak. It makes the Phonak product look like it was designed by a bunch of summer interns. Sad but true. :man_shrugging:t3:

1 Like

Well, there IS a fix in sight (probably 1-2 weeks) for the XS, but I agree they messed up with this. And clearly, there are serious bugs with their BT implementation, which (to be fair) is uniquely featured; I assume this will also be fixed before long. I’ve always felt that these HA companies do poorly with user-facing software (I can’t comment on their audiology code), so I completely agree there (I’m also a 40 year software developer, by the way; good to meet you!).