Self experimentation and I have non-measured but noticeable hearing improvement

OK I often try things on myself without the consent of a doctor. I monitor myself and so far I don’t think I’ve done any damage to myself.

NOTE: I’m not giving medical advice here, just letting you know what I’m experiencing. (I’m not even qualified to give medical advice.)

This is not a double-blind or any kind of scientific experiment.

I’m doing two new things at once and my hearing is improving. I’ve been doing them for a few months now.

At first I thought it was my imagination, buttons on devices and computer mice that usually go more like a pop are doing a definite click sound. The ‘silent’ light switch in the bathroom is making a slight click, I can’t remember ever hearing it click (I’ve lived here 30 years). Silverware and vitamins in the bottle are loud. We watched a rental movie, there was an interview extra and I realized I was understanding almost every word he said without captions. My wife reads to me every day, and today I heard the difference between the consonants D and B in Audrey and Aubrey. She says she notices me saying “what” less often when we talk. I could go on with a few more.

A few months ago I read an article on CNN about using a 670nm near infra-read light to improve aging vision here by stimulating the mitochondria in the receptor cells.

I figured it wouldn’t hurt to put the device on each ear so after 3 minutes on the eyes, I put it on each ear 3 minutes apiece. Maybe it would stimulate the hearing cells??? Probably not but why not give it a try.

For about two months I thought it wasn’t doing any good, then when I was about to quit as a waste of time I pressed one of those round dome buttons on a device that usually goes thunk and it said tick.