Seeing a different audiologist after receiving new pair of aids

Hi guys, new user here,

So I’m currently trying out the Oticon Opn 3 BTE after having the Oticon Nera for the past 5 years. They work really well but my main issue seems to be my current audiologist.

I’ve had my numerous issues with him in the past but the fact that he seems very old hat and won’t budge to try any other brand (My Opn 3’s trial period runs out 9/11 before I sign on for them for good) and he doesn’t do any Real Ear Measurements which alarms me. My hearing is currently profound to severe (I don’t have my audiogram) which is why I’m going with the BTE model, and I’ve been wearing hearing aids since I was 3 years old and I’m 28 now. I wanted to try out some of the other brands like Phonak or Resound but he kept insisting that I would be regressing in terms of feature/technology wise but more amplification. All he really seems to do when I go for fittings is crank up everything across the board on the Genie 2 program.

My question is this, if I do stick with the Opn 3 BTE and I go to a different audiologist, would I run into any issues with them trying to recommend a different type? I’m sure there’s different options and I would take any other audiologist besides the one I currently have, I just want the proper care and fitting.

Thanks!

0 Likes

If you are paying for your aids and Costco is available, I would try there. They do REM. As far as new aids are concerned, I think it is worthwhile to watch the market. If you need BTE aids they seem to progress more slowly as the big demand is in the RIC market. The industry like you to think they are making a breakthrough in technology every month. Not so sure that is the case. At the end of the day it should be your choice if it is is your money.

0 Likes

Appreciate the response, fortunately my insurance covers for everything.