RONDO 2 and Roger questions

I’m new with having a cochlear implant. I have the Rondo 2 and with that I also have the Roger. I have it connected to my galaxy s20 ultra to enhance my hearing in general but has anyone been able to connect them to a windows laptop. I work from home and I have to wear a headset, but the headset sits directly where my cochlear implant is supposed to be at. I’m starting to notice that I am having speech issues when I don’t wear it. I guess since I’ve never had this before, is that normal for speech issues to happen with prolonged non use of the hearing devices?

1 Like

Can you not give up the headset and stream directly to your CI with either the Roger or some other way?

the audiolink they have for MedEL can help that person here!

Yes that’s it! I knew Med-El had something but couldn’t think what it was called!

Welcome!

What “issues”? Hissing, lisping, squeaking? These things happen in people who deny they need help. I sizzle my esses but had not noticed until I used my aid. I suppose it also happens when help is not used. Some of the subtle sounds in speech can only be regulated by hearing yourself.

I may be mis-understanding but: There’s different styles of headsets. One popular type does have a big pad right over the ear, but there are others. Also, my Phonak BTE connects to wireless telephone (hear and talk) and it appears this Rondo2 does also? I guess this is what Zebras and Otikid05 are saying.

I am also new to a cochlear implant. My first adjustments were yesterday after the activation a few weeks ago. This comment about hearing yourself hit home a little. I find myself talking waaaay too loud. My voice is very clear, but too loud. Other voices are not so clear. Trying to figure this all out.

Today I did have a steamed phone call from a good friend. I understood about 50-60 percent. Last week when we talked it was more like 10-20%.