Reasonable price HA for severe high frequency loss?

Newbie here: After a lifetime of living with high frequency loss, my wife convinced me to get a hearing test. Turns out my high frequency starts dropping rapidly from 1 khz to 3 khz (85db and 100db loss due to unprotected shooting at a very early age).

The audiologist recommended Oticon OPN1 which really impressed me how they opened the hearing landscape. However before a decision could be made, I was forced out of my ACA insurance into Medicare which doesn’t pay anything for HA’s - this means $6K OPN1’s are out of consideration…and I have concerns about their reliability anyway. I’m also a musician and don’t want to distort what little I’m able to enjoy currently. Maybe the KS 8’s?? I’m looking at Costco or equivalent. Anyone with a similar audio profile have any input?

Another concern I have about the OPN 1’s is that my wife, who is very HOH (85 db valley shape), has both a Cala 8 and OPN1 pair, both are brand new. While she likes both, she prefers the more “natural” sound of the OPN. But from my perspective, she asks me to repeat a little more often with the OPN’s than with the Cala’s. This suggests that too much filtering sophistication may come at a price, so maybe simpler is better? I’ve no idea.

Musicians often choose Bernafon. Just about any aid can have a music program which reduces processing for speech.

The OPNs have a different approach. They don’t filter noise like other aids. Seems to be that you either love the approach or don’t.

You might give your wife’s Cala a try by having them fitted to your loss. It would be an easy way to trial them without an investment. The KS8 is a quality aid. With your high frequency loss, Phonak is a good trail.

It really boils down to how your ears work with that brand. There isn’t a golden brand that satisfies everyone – very subjective.

1 Like