RE: Mild Hearing Loss?

I am a newbie here and I just had my audiogram and I have bilateral mild hearing loss, especially in the 2000, 4000 hz range… Maybe due to noise or whatever. I just have my Oticon Deltas ordered…I hope I do ok with them. It has been increasingly hard to hear, the TV and people speaking behind walls etc…I wonder what I will be hearing with them on!:slight_smile: I was getting very tired of everyone “nagging” me…I just told them they had “bionic hearing”, like it was their problem…I cant say that now after looking at my audiogram… I also have constant tinnitus, my own personal emergency broadcast system in my head…LOL…I am glad however that mild gain aids were considered…I think it will help. Anyone else out there with mild loss?

I have mild to moderate loss in the high frequency range (1500 - 6000 Hz). I was diagnozed in 2002 but was told by an Ear, Nose and Throat doc that my condition wasn’t all that bad and so I waited and endured the frustration of not hearing all conversations especially those I had with my young daughters. When I saw that Oticon had released a new design brand - Delta - I had to give it a go. I have had the Delta6000 (both ears) since Nov. 2006 and I cannot believe how much I was missing. I few sessions to fine tuning the HAs and I’m all set. Two malfunctions: 1) the speaker part stopped working and 2) one unit died, both issues quickly resolved with replacements, no hassles. Drawbacks: I wish they hugged my head better, although many have told me that they do not notice them, and, with all HAs the battery life is short, in my case 5-6 days. I highly recomment buying online at www.localbattery.com. Great service and unbeatable price. I bought a case that should last all year. I’m 46 years young and I probably should have gotten HAs long ago. When my one unit died, I felt completely muted on that side (mind you I am not deaf) and I was relieved when I got the replacement in.Good luck with your HAs!