Questions from a Complete Newbie

I was diagnosed with hearing loss several years ago and have finally decided to do something about it since it’s been starting to impact me in the workplace.

Anyways I have no clue how the whole hearing aid/insurance process works. I have GEHA standard option insurance and they offer HearPO as well. For the insurance plan, I would pay 15% of the plan allowance for PPO and 35% for a non-PPO provider for hearing tests performed. The plan covers $250 for each ear (no deductible) towards hearing aids every five years. As far as I can tell, if I go to a HearPO provider, I would have to submit a claim later for reimbursement of costs but those providers don’t take my insurance directly. Anyways, financially would I be better off just going to a Geha provider or would HearPO provide a bigger savings? I am relatively knew to the workforce and dealing with insurance pretty much for the first time (and since this is my first real job I don’t have a whole lot of money to spend on hearing aids either). :confused:

It’s a little hard to tell what they would pay. Are you saying that with one of them you pay 15% and they pay the rest? Then where does the $250 limit come in?

Most people don’t have any insurance coverage at all for hearing aids. My plan specifically excludes hearing aids. That’s why I went to Costco.

The 15% is for the exams and not the hearing aids. Only $250 is covered towards a hearing aid for each ear (once every five years.

OK, gotcha.

I would very much encourage you to go forward and actually get the hearing aids. It really is life-changing when you can hear most of the things going on around you instead of missing most of it. If it is impacting your work it is undoubtedly impacting your social/family life as well. Hearing aids are not miracle cures for hearing loss, and with hearing aids you will not be at 100%, but they are a BIG benefit.