Question about VA eligibility

I am a Vietnam era vet and have only used VA benefits once to go to school many years ago. Having read several posts where folks mention that they got aids from the VA, I was interested to see if perhaps I could as well. Watched a Youtube video about it and it was mentioned that one has to have served 2 years to be eligible. I got a certified copy of my DD214 recently, and it said that I was transferred to the reserves after 1 year, 11 months, and 25 days. I week shy of 2 years. I have always wondered why that was. I think I know now. So, will being a week shy of 2 years keep me from being able to get aids from the VA?

0 Likes

The only thing I can say is to apply for your benefits

0 Likes

Hi John,

I served around the same time you did and am in the process of filing my first claim (hopefully within the next few weeks). I don’t think anyone here will be able to answer your question definitively. You should try contacting a local Veterans Service Officer (VSO) in your area, who can better answer your question and help you file a claim.

Good luck!

2 Likes

The YouTube video is wrong. You do not have to have served for two years to be eligible. But there are other possible bumps in the road. I was turned down by the VA today because I did not serve in Vietnam and our income is too high when combined like they require. The lady at the VA Hospital told me the threshold is less than $40K for the household! Well, with both of our pensions and social security, we exceed that.

So because I didn’t serve in Vietnam anytime during the period 1962-1975 im SOL. There are many other qualifiers but none of them that I could meet.

My only recourse now is to file a claim for hearing loss due to military service and based off of previous claims I filed, I don’t hold high hopes for that working.