Question about my hearing test

Hello, I am a new user, although I have been reading the forums off and on for several years. Tomorro 10/4/21 I am going for my second visit to an audiologist in my health care plan. I have been wearing h/a’s since 2007, my second two pairs were from Costco. I am currently wearing KS7’s.

During my hearing test last Monday, the audiologist could not get any result for the word recognition on my right ear. That ear is much worse….I puncture pd that eardrum scuba diving in the 1980’s. If I hold a phone to hear the dial tone, the right ear sounds entirely different than the left. But, with my current hearing aids I can hear, although much more quietly, the person speaking on streamed youtube videos.
I wonder if this audiologist did the testing correctly?

I have learned much reading the forums, thank you to thoses of you who share your knowledge.

It’s possible he didn’t do the word recognition test at a loud enough volume for that ear. If you have a copy of the results, it should say at what dB level the test was done for each ear.

An ENT might be needed with these concerns.
When things change it raises a flag.

That’s what I was going to say. Go see a doctor

I’m unclear what you’re really saying. Are you saying that your’re right ear has always (since injury) been much worse than your left or that it has only recently gotten much worse. If the later, what did the audiologist have to say about it? If there was a sudden change and the audiologist didn’t have an explanation, by all means see an ENT. If it’s not a recent change however, that’s a different story.

1 Like

I do have an ENT appointment this Friday as well, thanks for the suggestion.

1 Like

I have entered thrhearing testin the forum, but do not know how to make it visible to this forum topic.