Problems with noise level on Phonak hearing aids

Forgive me if this is an old, hackneyed topic - I am new to this game. Six weeks ago my local hospital issued me with two Phonak Nathos S+ micro hearing aids (BTE with moulded ear inserts). I was not impressed by the level of service, my appointment should have been for an hour but I was out of the door in less than half that time. There was no testing of the devices in my ears, virtually no advice on care and maintenance (I managed to get some info from the manufacturer’s website later), and one of the devices only seems to work intermittently.

The devices are large and pretty uncomfortable to wear for very long, but the main issue is the sheer noise which assaults my ears (although one device seems better than the other). The hearing aids seem to be set so sensitively that they pick up everything for yards around and it’s like World War 2 happening continuously. I defy anyone to ever get used to that series of squeaks, crackles and explosions. Also, the hearing aids are not adjustable (by myself), the volume is supposed to adjust itself to the ambient sound. Is that correct? Can the aids really not be re-set or adjusted in any way to suit an individual’s circumstances?!

It seems inevitable that I will have to return and get some adjustments carried out, but it would be helpful to hear other people’s experiences, so as to identify precisely what my problem might be. At present, the hearing aids are more or less useless, in the pub this evening I was able to converse comfortably with my friend WITHOUT the hearing aids - and without the Battle of Alamein thundering in my ears the whole time!

sounds pretty awful all round! can you return them and be fitted elsewhere? the fact that there was no testing of the devices in your ears sounds concerning to me and given the minimal service given at your first appointment I wouldn’t be holding your breath that this will suddenly improve at future appointments

Hi.