Problem inserting Phonak Paradise P50 into left ear for a comfortable fit

I am new to HAs. This is my third week with Phonak Paradise P50 HA. I have no difficulty inserting the HA into my right ear. It fits perfectly and I don’t even know its there. However the HA does not seem to sit properly into the left ear. I can’t seem to get the angle correct or pushing it in at the wrong angle or not deep enough to be comfortable like the right ear. When I move my jaws it feels like its not sitting correctly
I have to pull on my ears to get a comfortable fit . Does not seem right to me. Advise on technique please .

I don’t know that there is an optimal technique other than playing with it. Pulling ear up, pulling it down, trying different angles until something works. If still struggling, go back to your fitter. One thing to consider is that you may need a different sized dome, or perhaps even a custom mold.

2 Likes

Ditto what MDB says. I also have this problem & assume my two ear canals have slightly different angles or my hand dexterity is different for my off side.

I think you are both probably correct and there is probably a slight difference in ear canal angle .I need to experiment more. to find the correct angle to insert the left HA . I am due to see the audiologist this Friday for a second fitting so maybe she can help me with it.

1 Like

I was having hard time putting in my left one when I got my KS9s. They’re fitted with a larger domes than my previous aids, and somehow left one didn’t go in easily into my ear. I told that to my fitter at the two-week follow up visit, and she gave me a bottle of Comfort Ear lubricant. She showed me rubbing a small drop of Comfort Ear between the thumb and forefinger, then coating domes lightly before inserting. It works pretty well for me.
https://comfortear.com/