Power hearing aid with frequency range up to 9000Hz?

Hello, I need powerful hearing aid with sound pressure level up to 135dB. But in the frequency range all previous hearing aids I know can only reach around 5000Hz. I need frequency range up to 9000Hz. Do they exists?

I have a very flat hearing loss 100dB 150hz - 9000hz

I’m no expert but I don’t think it’s going to happen. With that kind of sound pressure level, you’re talking at least super power, likely ultra power aids. There aren’t very many of them and they max out at under 6khz. The way I’ve heard it explained is that a hearing aid receiver is like a reed vibrating. More power needs a thicker reed, but it won’t vibrate at as high a frequency. The only way I know of to be aware of those upper frequencies is to use frequency lowering where the hearing aid shifts the higher frequencies down to a lower frequency where hearing is better.

1 Like

I think others have commented that when you have lost that much hearing, especially since higher frequencies usually end up being “deader” than lower frequencies, that even if the ability to amplify up to 9 kHz were available, it’s not likely to do you much good and as MDB points out, you be likely to have to use frequency lowering/frequency “recovery” to be able to hear anything, even ~indirectly, at those very high frequencies.