Possible Problem With Hearing Aid?

Hi There,

I have an Oticon Tega Pro that I have been wearing for about five months. It’s been working perfectly up until a few days ago. The sound started to fade out and I thought that the battery was probably going dead however, I never heard any of the beeps indicating a dead battery. Now, while there is some sound it’s not anywhere near what it was. When I change the settings I hear a very faint beep when cycling through them. Also, when I adjust the sound the beep that indicates the optimum volume level is also very faint whereas before it was very loud and clear. I can’t hear nearly as well as I could previously. I would guess it’s about 1/4 to a 1/2 of what it was. I did try a new battery but got the same results. I thought maybe the ear mold was plugged so I cleaned that out as well but still it’s the same.

So my questions are these:

Do the hearing aids themselves need to be cleaned? It’s never been but I don’t know if they need to be.
Could it be the earmold? The mold I have is old, about 4 years or so.
If the aid is defective, does anyone know the approximate time and cost of getting it repaired? I don’t have warranty on it, I got it free through a friend of my brother in law who is an audiologist. He also lives about 1000km away so I can’t go to him to check out.

I had also thought that maybe my ear was plugged or something but I go to an ENT fairly regularly for cleaning so I don’t think that was it.

If anyone can help me I would really, really appreciate it.

Thanks very much

I just had my Oticon DigiFocus repair. It’s an older model…Oticon does not
repair them anymore…my dispenser says Oticon keeps parts for 5 years.
Repair place he sent it to was (of all places) Starkey. I paid a couple hundred…cheaper than a new aid.

I would have your audi or dispenser see if Oticon can repair it. They
still sell the Tego Pro so I assume they still repair them. Oticon may