Playing the Piano with Siemens Pure 701

I’ve worn Siemens digital aids for about 10 years and am now upgrading to pure 701s. Since I’ve been down this road before, I’m hoping that I can make the most of my fitting experience next week and thereby reduce the problems that always come up.

I’m a serious pianist and organist, but am also very, very excited about hearing my mp3 player and phone through an improved frequency spectrum.

After spending a lot of time reading through the posts, here is what I think might be the correct questions/conclusions. Please please correct me or add other pertinent information if you can. Since I’ve worn hearing aids for 20 years, and digital for 10, I am very confident that the Siemens digitals will do the job, but only if they are set up correctly.

SO, for live music and piano, should I request the “standard” music program except with the microphone turned “on”? Does this mode disable feedback suppression or just dial it back a bit? I want to hear both soft and loud and don’t want the instruments to dial up the soft parts. In the past, I’ve had to turn them down to get the dynamic range I want without clipping the loud parts. Comments/Suggestions?

For phone and mp3 do I use similar settings except with microphone turned off?

For general listening, I hope the instruments don’t do too much in terms of signal processing. My Siemens "digital 8"s, when allowed turned so many frequency bands down that I had to ask everyone to repeat themselves, which seemed to turn virtually all frequency bands up again.

One other comment for those of you who are new to hearing aids. Stick with them! I had given up on playing the piano because it just didn’t sound good. When I finally became accustomed to my hearing aids, my life improved immensely and I was able to complete a degree in music which I had started a long time ago.