Picked up my Phonak Brio 3 RICs Today

Today I picked up my Phonak Brio 3 after a 11 day wait due to needing custom moulds.

Things I’ve noticed so far I have absolutely no feedback (I almost hugged my Fitter when I realised) it was hard not to get too emotional. In 30 years I’ve never once been able to even hug loved ones without whistling or apologising profusely over the sound hearing aids made.

I could hear several people quite a bit away just talking on the phone to the point even heard a sampler person saying hello so clearly behind me I had to triple take. This was a huge thing as normally anyone behind I’ve never heard.
I had the same reaction to my husband talking in the car behind me and didn’t miss a single word. Usually this situation has me twisted in my seat facing whomever is talking I’m a passenger not a driver before anyone gets worried.
Wind noise worked beautifully as a first experience I was able to hear what had been said loading my friends car up.

In the 3 hours of wearing these I have not said WHAT did you say?
I have yet to try different environments but my understanding of speach clarity is at this point mind blowing to me it’s always been a case of filling in the blanks or hoping I heard right. Today is the first time I’ve not stood and thought HUH? In the past my life was 50% of it’s all gobbledygook and 30% understanding and 20% of completely filled in the blanks with the wrong thing.

Husband’s initial reactions he loves that I can hear the little things like tank buzzing or water bubbling. Also commented in matter of an hour how my understanding of speech is much better than my old NHS oticons that I haven’t misheard his convos he has noticed the difference already too.

I will update more after a few weeks of use, my fitter has a tune up appointment in a months time but explained if I really dislike the sound of something that they can fit me in sooner.