Phonak vs. Oticon vs. Others?

I am completely new to hearing aids. My hearing loss is hereditary and my mother has severe hearing loss. I have a precipitous high frequency hearing loss that has remained stable for the last 15 years. I’m 23. Therefore I’ve been told to get hearing aids but resisted doing so in fear of increasing my hearing loss. I am so used to the way things have been that I think I get along well without them. I just completed my B.S. degree in Mechanical Engineering so it hasn’t presented too much of a problem there. Anyways, I recently decided due to several reason (mostly because my current insurance will 100% cover the costs of the aids) to get hearing aids and my audiologist suggested either the Oticon (Agil Pro, Agil, Acto Pro, Acto, or Ino) or the Phonak Audeo S (V, VII, or IX). I am really unfamiliar with what qualities to look for in hearing aids. I am also wondering what other aids might be an option. I’m guessing that my audiologists get some sort of kickback for these two brands, and that is why she recommends them. Any sort of advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Audiogram (from what I can tell)
0250 R5 L5
0500 R5 L5
1000 R10 L20
2000 R55 L52
4000 R55 L55
8000 R90 L87

Since your insurance covers 100% of the cost then you should look only on the Premium models. Oticon Agil PRO, Phonak Audeo S IX or Phonak Ambra. Try them both and see which sounds better for you.

Widex (Clear Passion and/or Fusion) have best voice/sound quality and volume in music and speech. I try Phonak Versata and Siemens 500 an 701 an Widex Passion.

I wouldn’t use the word “kickback”. Audiologists sell and fit hearing aids and make a profit. Your audiologist may just prefer working with those brands or may think those models will suit you best. They would profit from the sale of any brand so that’s probably not why she prefers those models.