Phonak Q50 died,what next

Hi Folk
One of the Phonak Q50 went suddenly death. It is out of Warranty :thinking:
The left one works fine.
what you propose to do. They are quit expensive.
Possible to open it (I’m an electronics engineer)

Any experience / ideas ?
Ruse

You can get aftermarket repairs. Typical cost is $150 with 6 mo warranty – not all can be repaired properly. An alternative is to find one on ebay. It takes a test bench to work on them.

Lloydhearingaids.com has one of the online repair services. They use Prairie Lab in Minnesota and you can see both sites info via Google. Prairie deals only with dealers and not the public.

It could be just the RIC that is failed. Those aren’t too expensive to replace and you should be able to do that yourself.

I’m not sure if they are interchangeable , but you could try putting the receiver from your good aid onto the failed aid to see if this is the problem or not.

Mike

Also check for wax blockage.

What you mean by wax blockage?
The unit is clean, no initial sound, just nothing
The Phonak Target SW tells me also, there is no equipment to find. just the left one.
With my own B-30 the SW works fine :thinking:

For example wax blockage in this hole;
phonak-receiver-standard_1024x

I have the same HA’s. One of mine went dead. I took it to be cleaned and they told me there was moisture in the aid. She cleaned it and it works fine. You said yours is clean, but maybe there could be moisture left in it. They have dryers you can use to prevent this especially if you live in a humid climate. Just a thought.

Thanks cjpines
but when the Phonk Target SW is not finding the aid… looks for me that it is gone.
With moisture at least the transmitter / receiver should response to the SW.

Anyway, I will follow your idea. To morrow I go to the shop and asking for a Service. (Thanks).
I give you an update.

Steps to try:

• change battery, try different battery batch.
  • change wax filter
  • dry out in HA dryer