Phonak/Oticon have worn both not sure which to go with for next pair

I am about to purchase new hearing aids and I’m looking for some input to help me decide what to buy. I’m 60 and I’ve been wearing hearing aids for about 12 years. My hearing loss is due to otosclerosis. I have moderate to severe mixed hearing loss with low frequencies causing me the most problem without hearing aid assistance.

At present I’m wearing Oticons (Opn 1 miniRITE) which are about 5 years old. Prior to that I wore Phonaks (I don’t remember which model). I really like my Oticons - the sound quality is much better than my Phonaks which sounded tinny to me. I’m guessing that’s in part due to the newer technology as my Phonaks were purchased 6 years prior to my Oticon’s - but I’m curious to hear if others have input as to sound quality between the two brands.

I love that Phonak now has a waterproof hearing aid - so that is pointing me in that direction for purchase.

I wear my hearing aids from the time I get up, until I go to sleep and I do a fair amount of streaming during the day, so battery life is important to me. Let me know what your battery life experience has been. I’m also curious how long the rechargeable batteries will last?

Thank you in advance to anyone who takes the time to respond. I’ve spent time on both the Oticon and Phonak sites, and I will ask these questions when I see my audiologist - but getting info from actual users is very helpful. Thank you again!

1 Like

I have worn aids for 20 years, I have worn Oticon aids now for 14 years, I have tried different aids from different companies and keep coming back to Oticon. My reasoning is very simple I love the sound of Oticon aids. All of the others didn’t stand up to my needs, some are two harsh, some just sound to weak. My advice is simply find the aids from the company that sounds the best to you and your needs and stick with them.

1 Like

Phonak is about to launch a new product line.