Phonak Naida vs Unitron Moxi 2?

Hello

Apologies if I am not posting correctly - I am a complete newbie !

I was born deaf in the left ear - which is unaidable,(nerve is dead) and with fairly severe loss in the right. I’m sorry but I don’t possess an audiology chart that I can post, I just have a very old graph! I could never cope with NHS aids - so until 1995 I just used to lipread my way through life. Got my first proper digital aid when my eyesight started to fail me… I now wear glasses, too. Such is life!!

Currently, though, I have a Phonak Savia BTE with full earmould - have had this for 6-7 years, and cope pretty well with it. (Got this through my workplace and Access To Work, so it didn’t cost me anything at the time!!) I thought it was pretty great at the time, and still do.

I wanted to upgrade to a Phonak Naida 90, as I’m now semi-retired and can finally afford to purchase one myself… :rolleyes: but I’ve been persuaded to buy a Unitron Moxi 2 (RIC), (after being assured that Unitron and Phonak, being co-owned by the same company, are equals in quality and technology) - and am currently trying it out. So far I’m finding it far inferior to my Savia, the sound quality seems really tinny and clashy, - I couldn’t hear on the telephone, and as for the noisy environment handling, - well…it didn’t. I’ve had it adjusted and tweaked for the telephone handling - it’s better in that way now, but it almost seems as though background TV and music noise goes “bubbly” sometimes. I’ve never experienced that before. Is this distortion? The audiologist is going to try me out with an earmould instead to see if this improves things in general, but I’m just not sure…

Can anyone help with regards to whether the Phonak Naida (the Q90, I think) is the better aid of the two - more importantly, would it give me the sound quality I’ve gotten used to with my now (elderly) Savia? I’ve tried comparing the specs on the Internet - but would really value an opinion from the experts!!