Phonak Hearing Aids Accidentally Connected to Phone... Briefly

I am very new to hearing aids and am on day 3 of using them. So far, so good. I am impressed that it seems like they are not there until i take them off and the world gets a little quieter.

I bought Phonak Brio 3 R RIC from Costco. On fitting day I ordered a Command Pilot thing so I can connect to my phone or any other BT device of my choosing.
I do not have the Command Pilot yet.

Today, I received a phone call and held the phone up to my ear to listen. I could not hear well so I moved it around some to try to get the hearing aid mic to pic up the sound. All of the sudden I heard a melody and then the callers voice was super clear in BOTH ears like I was wearing headphones. Unfortunately it only lasted a couple of seconds before it disconnected. After the phone call was over, I held up my phone to my Left HA and it connected again, but all I heard was the melody again and then some hiss, then a different melody when it disconnected.
The only explanation I can think of is that phone’s NFC is connecting. Given the proximity that the phone was to my HA, it seems likely.