Phonak ComPilot

I picked up my ComPilot on 12/1, so I have two days of use as I write this.
I have been using the icom and MyPilot for about six months. In real life, I found that I usually would not carry the MyPilot, because being a guy the only way to carry it was in my pocket.

The ComPilot has the function of both the icom and MyPilot in one unit. It is slightly longer than the icom, but that does not seem to be an issues with me. The first thing I noticed is the neck cord is detachable on both ends, so if the cord is damaged, only the cord needs to be replaced.

In real life use of the ComPilot, my observations will be based upon comparing to the icom and MyPilot and also to the Oticon Streamer which I trialed for four weeks in April 2011.

The ComPilot Bluetooth stays connected to my cellphone. I often had dropouts with the other products. Family members say that the ComPilot sounds better that the other products when I talk to them using the ComPilot connected to a cell phone. Based upon sound quality for the person on the other end of the telephone, I have been told my people that I talk to, the ComPilot is sounds best, followed by the icom, with the Streamer sounding poorest of the three.

I played music from my cell phone using bluetooth and then had a phone call. The ComPilot handled it well without getting confused. I am happy with the sound quality of the ComPilot for listening to music. It is not as good as quality headphones, but we have to be realistic that the signal is going through Bluetooth, then though another connection from the ComPilot to the hearing aids.