Phonak app update / Autosense

My question is two fold.

For those users of Phonak, how do you feel about the app update of August 12, 2021 or so? Something I noticed, it may be a fluke, each morning when I put on my rechargables the default program was always autosense. Recently I noticed that the HA’s booted up into the program that I last used the previous evening. Anyone else notice anything? Connection time for the app and HAs is still terrible, making a quick change in modes impossible.

Since I mentioned Autosense, how do users feel about this program? Does it help or hinder? I’ve been wearing Phonak Marvel 70s since November 2019, never been overly enthused with my experience. In May of this year I had the HAs reprogrammed by another audiologist and she used something called REAL EAR. Basically she blew up the existing Phonak autosense program and with the help of a tiny microphone inserted in my ear canal along with the HA receiver, she created a new program. The new program did help in certain situations but I still struggle at the grocery store checkout, fast food counter and restaurants. Facial masks don’t help the situation and I realize others find this difficult as well.

I’ve been experimenting with my own custom program - I suppose that’s all I can do.

2 Likes

I’ve read on this forum that the App update only helps Paradise models and not the Marvel models.

(You may already know this.)

I like the recent update. I almost always use Autosense and don’t have a problem with it. I do use a modified Music program when I play my guitar and like the fact it now stays there if interrupted by a phone call or some other notification.
The app connects to my HAs within about 3-5 seconds which I don’t find too annoying … but of course would like it to be quicker ( Samsung Galaxy S21+)