Phonak Ambra vs Solana

I have an appointment with a new audiologist next month and wanted to know if the Ambra was worth the extra money compared to the Solana. I’ve been wearing a hearing aid for the past 6 years (I should have been wearing one for the past 12 years) and I’m 34. My first ha was an analog Oticon ITE but it finally kicked the bucket in January so now I’m wearing an el cheapo digital Siemens BTE. I need two hearing aids but have only ever been able to afford one. Next month I will be able to afford two new ones. I don’t have my audiogram and won’t get one until I see my new audiologist so I will tell you what I know. I have a cookie bite loss that ranges from moderate to severe. I am really missing my ITE aid, although it wasn’t the best it did a decent job of helping me hear and was comfortable. Switching from analog to digital and from ITE to BTE all at once has just about frustrated me to death. I understand that Phonak makes CIC and ITE aids for these models? Does anybody have a cic or ite of these models and can give me some feedback on their experience? I have been browsing this forum since February and have found a plethora of info and just want to say thanks! Reading posts about these models makes my head spin with all the different settings and now they have remotes-omg!

Hi Candace

I have the Ambra’s BTE SP, full shell molds and no vents! Anyway, yesterday I decided to try the semi-linear feature to see if I could improve sound quality slightly? They do sound better now:D The Ambra’s can be set to; Linear, Semi-Linear or Non Linear, the Linear sound quality is superb, but everything seems a little loud to me, so I went for the semi setting… I think this setting is used for folk who may be struggling when making the transition from analog to digital?

Cheers Kev:D