Patient whose tinnitus worsens with the use of amplification

So I have a patient who came to me with his main complaint being Tinnitus, his wife’s main complaint being he can’t hear well.

After some counseling and conversation, he finally admitted that he has a problem hearing, and decided to try some hearing aids.

They work, in that they help him hear better, but they don’t work in that he claims that when he first puts them on, everything is fine. But after 2 to 3 hours, the level of his tinnitus begins to climb, and according to him, it gets so bad that he can’t hear anything but the roaring tinnitus.

I have been fitting hearing aids for almost 25 years, and this is a first. I have never had anyone who, when fitted with hearing aids, their tinnitus got worse.

Anyone else have any insight into this phenomenon?

I’m not a professional, but I lost hearing in my left ear and had extremely loud tinnitus in that ear. I finally got a hearing aid for that ear because I read it could help tinnitus. At first, the tinnitus got even louder - I described it as roaring. But after a few weeks, the tinnitus got a lot softer. Now, after four years, the only time the tinnitus is really loud is when I’m stressed, have food/drink that triggers it (red wine, chocolate), after being in an extremely noisy restaurant, or when I’m having an audiogram.

1 Like

Kaytee…

thanks so much for the reply. If I may ask, were you diagnosed with anything related to the inner ear? Menieres disease or endolymphatic Hydrops? Thanks a lot!

Eric

I have the most difficulty with my left ear. Specific sounds become intolerable, and the response (as explained to me) is called vestibular hyperacusis. In some situations I need to remove myself from the location before a vertigo episode is triggered.