Oticon Vigo suddenly stops working

Hi, I’ve had my Oticon Vigos since August of 2008. They were working perfectly fine today until I tried to put them in a few minutes ago. Now the right one refuses to turn on. I’ve tried changing the batteries, taking out the tubes, no avail. Does anyone know if it could be moisture? It is snowing today and I was out in the snow; perhaps the moisture from my slightly damp hair or the snow might have damaged it? They are not wet right now but maybe internally?

Also it would be difficult to get them repaired. I am American and got them originally from the states, but now I am studying abroad in Denmark. So I guess it would involve extra costs to have them shipped back and forth from the states. Does anyone know how to go about getting hearing aids repaired if you are not in the country where you bought them?

Also this is my first pair of digital hearing aids. Is it normal for them to just all of a sudden stop working?

Did you clean any wax out of the tube and/or earmold? The times that I’ve had symptoms like this, there was wax completely blocking the earmold, tubing or receiver (for receiver-in-canal aids).

Do you have Danish CPR-number? If you have that you should be medically covered and hearing aids are also covered. Oticon also have an international warranty if I remember correctly, then they should be covered if they are less than a year.

I would go to a hearing aid clinic (private or public) and see first if they can help you and find out what the problem is. Maybe it is an easy fix. There are for example www.auri.dk. It’s in Danish. If you need help finding an adress or telephone number just PM me.

Oticon also have their head quarters just outside of Copenhagen, maybe you can give them a call and ask. But I think they will also refer you to a clinic.

it is a world wide warranty, they will repair it quickly… it has happend to me that the the filter in the earhook needs to be replaced… maybe it is this