Oticon Safari vs Phonak Nios V

I am new to the HA world. My daughter had surgery to build a canal (she was born without), and now we are looking for a HA for her. Right now I am looking at the Oticon Safari or Phonak NIOS V. I can’t find much on either of them. I think it is because they are so new. She has normal hearing in her L ear, so it will only be for her R ear. Her last audiogram showed
250-55
500-55
1000-45
2000-40
3000-50
4000-60
6000-55
8000-80
She is 5 years old. She was also born without an ear, but has had one reconstructed. There is not much room behind her ear, so smaller is better not only for looks, but also in order to try to get it to stay in a very small space.

If anyone knows of some other aid, or advice on the ones I have listed, I would greatly appreciate it! If there is a better place to find pediatric information, please let me know!

What sort of information were you looking for? There is a lot of info on the Phonak website, a downloadable brochure and a downloadable user guide, but maybe you were looking for more in the way of people’s own experiences? Or perhaps you didn’t know that was all there. If you look down the RH side you can run through the different options.

Phonak’s own online training for audiologists describes the Nios V as the paediatric version of the Versata, and it is basically a Versata with Sound Recover added on, plus some paediatric options in terms of size. Perhaps you could widen the search to look at the Versata also in terms of how people have liked the product, as most adults will have had the Versata version. Though most options will be locked down for such a young child you do want to have the ability to grow with her needs, as there is a whole different fitting protocol for 8-14 and she’ll be ready to use some of the functions.