Oticon OPN RITE105 or BTE13 PP?

Hey there, I currently have Oticon’s OPN RITE with the power 105 receiver. Love them, but as you can see I do have significant hearing loss, and am wondering if I could get more out of the newly released Oticon OPN BTE13 PP.
I am still in trial mode and can switch at no cost.
I know the BTE would have better battery life as it uses size 13 not 312, but I am not too worried about that, would rather have the smaller RITE if all is the same.
I am getting great performance, but have trouble with quiet and higher pitched voices, have some feedback issues as the aids are set at the higher end, and the BTE may possibly provide more room for additional amplification in case of future hearing drop.
Can anyone confirm if the BTE trial would be worth it or assist with the above, what is the benefit of these, they seem to have similar spec’s and profiles as linked but i am not an expert?
Thanks in advance!
BTE Specs

RITE Specs

1 Like

There’s a forum member in the UK who’s looking forward to trying out the BTE13 PP. If you search the threads you’ll find it, and maybe PM her to get more of her perspective. But she doesn’t wear the OPN 105, however. She had an older OPN BTE model.

Just from looking at your audiogram, it looks like even if the 105 is working for you, I would guess you don’t have much headroom left in case you need to increase the volumeup for soft or high pitched voices, or in case your hearing degrades further in the future. So if you use the BTE13 PP, I guess it’ll give you extra margin and extra power over the 105 in the future if you ever need it.

looked over the data sheets a couple of days, seem to be the same on paper, if you don’t like your mold, since it is acryl and if the receiver wear down fast in your experience, the BTE could give you less maintenance cost and more options for molds, but I don’t think any technical advantage…

1 Like