Oticon OPN Dead Microphones?

I’ve been wearing Oticon OPN1 MiniRITE HAs for close to two years and I love them. Recently, I started hearing a series of beeps - 8 beeps, in groups of 4, from my right aid. I looked in the Oticon ON app and the log says “Dead microphone detected”. I contacted my audiologist and she said to bring it in and they would send it in for repair, which I did. Now I am getting the same beeping pattern and same log message from BOTH hearing aids.

Has anyone else had any experience with this kind of problem?

I know some Oticon’s beep for when they need a service.

1 Like

First try new batteries, if it still does it then get back as fast as possible to your Audi for more than likely another replacement set

1 Like

Yes, that was the first thing I did. It doesn’t happen real often, every few days. I have alerted my audiologist… Thanks!

Yes, it did happen to me on one of my OPN 1 RICs. It’s basically when your mic needs to be serviced, usually when it gets too humid or when you partake in activities where you may sweat too much into the OPN mic port (although it’s supposed to be OK to sweat).

When that happens, your mic may not be dead completely yet, may still function like normal, but on the verge of failing at some time soon in the future. If you get that warning, you’ll have to turn it in for repair. If it happens to only one of your 2 hearing aids, I’d still turn in both of them for repair if still under warranty because there’s a good chance that it will happen to the unaffected hearing aid soon, too.

3 Likes

Taking them in for repairs today. I hope they are fixable (or replaceable!).