Oticon OPN 1 or Resound LinX 3-D 9?

Hi All,

I just joined the forum. I have uploaded my audiogram of air conduction hearing loss.

I have previously used bone conduction spectacle hearing aids (fitted in the UK) because of itching problem in the ears, but now find them inadequate. I don’t have an up to date audiogram for bone conduction loss.

I am hoping a pair of these RIC aids will help me to hear better and also with the iPod touch allow me to listen to music and phone conversations (with Magic Jack installed on the iPod.) I will use Miracell to stop itching, hopefully.

I will appreciate any comments about my choice before I buy a pair.

Cheers.
akaybee

I’m no expert but your audiogram tells me you have severe loss in the right ear and profound in the left. So whichever aid you choose of the 2 mentioned you will need high powered speakers and probably a double unvented dome in the right and possibly a custom mould in the left. The OPN 1 and Linx3D are both highly thought of. They both have mfi connection to an iphone but the latter has a more comprehensive app.

Thank you JohnA. I will ask the Audio to set the speakers at high assuming this is possible. Is there any reason why a mold may be better than a dome on my left ear which has profound loss? I am asking because I wish to discuss this with the Audio and give him a reason for my preference for a mold. Also, I have to check if a mold is more likely to cause itching, a problem I am worried about.

A mold shouldn’t itch more than a dome. A mold may seal up your ear canal better than a dome, depending how regular or irregular your ear canal is. Usually for severe loss, a high power receiver is necessary and usually they only come with custom molds.