Oticon Delta 8000 for SSHL

Hi there,

I’m new to this whole hearing loss thing. I recently (October 2007) suffered from SSHL in the left ear with severe hearing loss in the mid-range frequencies. Apparently, I can hear the highest and lowest frequencies just fine. I also have mild hearing loss in my right ear, but I may have always had this, who knows?

I also have tinnitus in my left ear which is annoying but not much else. It doesn’t keep me awake at night.

I am having the same problems as most people I guess. I read about problems in noisy environments, meetings, watching TV and yes, I do the whole 360 degree spin thing when I call a lift (where did that ding come from?).

After all sorts of treatments mostly involving steroids of one form or another it looks like I’m stuck with it. I’m not self-conscious enough to worry about letting people know that I have a hearing difficulty, but when I was recommended to try a hearing aid, I only thought of the ‘big banana’ or the ‘cockroach in the ear’ ones. I guess I am self-conscious enough to not want to wear one of those. I’m 38 and younger people don’t suffer hearing problems, right?

I nearly cried when I saw the Delta. So I have gone to be fitted and should have one ready for trial next week - a Delta 8000. But now I read through the forums, I see quite a bit about the Dot from GNResound.

Now that I have read through the forums a bit I have a number of questions and I hope someone can answer a few for me:

Has anyone tried both the Delta and the Dot and can give a comparison? Is one better for my type of hearing loss?

What the heck is datalogging? Is it some kind of download from the device?

Siemens and a few others talk quite a bit about feedback reduction and Oticon mention nothing. Am I likely to have feedback problems with this device?

Does anyone know when the Dot will be available in Australia?