OPN S - 105 Receiver problems

oticon

Hi this is my first time making a post

I have uploaded my previous audio gram to show my loss - severe to profound.

I have been trialing the OPN S 3 - this is the first time I have tried a 105 power receiver and there appears to be some kind of distortion - whenever I start hearing speech I hear a cutting sound.

The settings have been changed from one extreme to the other, right away it sounds better but the crackle comes back once I get used to the settings - we got new molds made and it comes back.

The aids have been exchanged - she tried OPN S 1 but didn’t help.

We tried the 100 Receiver with a dome and it seemed better with regards to the distortion but not loud enough for me. My Audiologists wants me to have the power I need.
She thinks I am perceiving the strong vibrations in the C Shell.

Has anyone had issues with the 105 receiver making crackling sounds - almost like when an aid has moisture in it?

I like the clarity overall and the loudness in sound but hope we can fix the issue I have with the receiver.

0 Likes

I wonder if the BTE Power version of the OPN S is available yet or not. I know the original OPN does have the BTE Power version already available. I’m thinking maybe this version with the receiver housed inside the hearing aid itself and not in the canal in the mold may be more impervious to vibration due to very strong amplification. It’d be another thing to try just to rule out various factors.

If that indeed works, I wonder if your audi would be willing to let you use the original OPN BTE PP13 for now until Oticon has that version out for the OPN S then she lets you upgrade to the S when available.

0 Likes

Thank you for your response - I forgot to mention that we tried the BTE also for the OPN S and I had the same issue.

We tried the original OPN and had the same results.

0 Likes