OPN 3 review from OPN 1 owner’s perspective

oticon
opn

I’ve been wearing the Oticon OPN 1 since November 2016 (almost a year now). Recently I had an opportunity to review the OPN 3 courtesy of Audiometrix. They sent me a pair of OPN 3 on loan and asked me to try them out and write an honest review on this forum, because they know that I’m an OPN 1 owner and I’m active on OPN discussions on the forum. They want to get my honest opinion about it, with respect to the OPN 1 experience that I’ve had. I don’t get paid by Audiometrix for the review, nor do I get to keep the OPN 3 afterward. It’s a completely voluntary offer, but I was still very excited at the prospect of being able to try out the OPN 3, because I’ve always been super curious myself on how the OPN 3 sounds. I’m curious whether I’d be able to tell any difference between my OPN 1 and the OPN 3 if I ever had a chance to try it out. Then lo and behold the opportunity presents itself!

This is not a review of the OPN in general. I’ll assume that the reader already has some basic knowledge of the OPN “open” paradigm, the concept of BrainHearing as promoted by Oticon, and the signal processing strategy of the OpenSound Navigator. So I’m not going to rehash any of this stuff as to not turn this review into a novel. The focus will be limited to the differences between the OPN 1 and the OPN 3 and my actual hands-on experience of both.