Newer digital hearing aid technology

I am new to this forum. While I have done a little searching and reading here, I am finding a couple of things. One… the hearing aid technology has grown by leaps and bounds since my last purchase 4 years ago. And, prices for the best technologies have come down. This puts me in the ball park of higher end technology. I presently own Seimens music.

My hearing loss is moderate. The last audie called it classic high pitched hearing loss. I have been wearing whatever my insurance will cover for the last 20 years. I am in construction but will not be wearing these to work. My most frustrating problems are background noise, cell phones and higher pitched speakers and accents. I do lip read some, as well. my speech recognition is 80% according to last test.

In Feb. I had the pleasure of wearing a pair of Oticon Epoqs for an hour or so. What a difference. And I can afford these. I started shopping around and found that person’s prices extremely high so I have been making appointments with others. One suggested I try Phonak Exelia. The price difference from this person is $55.00 each. Epoqs being cheaper. ($2195 each). My insurance covers $4000.00 for both every 3 years.

Since I have worn in the ear aids he suggested I not necessarily go to open fit.

I am not one who can, or will, take advantage of all the bells and whistles each of them have. I doubt I’ll buy any extras. After I get comfortable with any set, I’m pretty much just stick them in my ear and go kind of guy.

I am open to a lot of suggestions here. Any ideas someone might have for me to check out, I’d be greatful. This is very new technology for me and I’m looking at all aspects.

Thanks in advance.
Jeff

you can go epoq V
U should be able to get it @ 25% of the epoq W

Thanks. I have another appointment tomorrow with a different audie. I’m taking all suggestions into consideration. There is so much I don’t know, that it is hard to know what questions to ask.

J