Newbie's report on 2nd trial of hearing devices

Newbie here. First, I appreciate this forum and all of you. I have learned much in the past 5 mos. I began my journey five months ago. Went to a GP, than an ENT and had an independent audiologist give me a hearing test. I’ve been reminded during this journey numerous times that there are no such things as “stupid” questions and to keep going even though others may not understand your perspective or question. I researched and had my first trial of hearing devices at Costco KS 10’s. I was underwhelmed by the first HIS and the 2nd HIS and though they used REM, I was left wondering if the hearing device was optimized for my audiology report (mild / moderate, ski slope). And the KS 10’s appeared to work well except for a slight lisp I heard - I was really unsure whether it was worth my time and effort to trial others. However my main goals were to:

1. have clarity of sound - the best clarity I could reasonably get.
  2. reliable product that worked with my tech platform
  3. ease of maintenance
  4. an audiologist that understood and valued the process and the work they do
  5. determine if a disposable battery hearing device vs rechargeable was the way to go. I believed the disposable battery would generally be more advantageous with my work and lifestyle, but I was open to both.

After trialing the KS10’s, my biggest issue was whether or not it was worth my time to see other audiologists and trial more hearing devices. And I have to say as the KS 10’s have been pulled from the shelf at Costco, this didn’t make me feel very comfortable long term with those devices - on the other hand they seemed to suffice.

I decided to keep going because if I didn’t I would never know if my hearing was optimized.