Hi there,

I’m new to the hearing forum and could not see a welcome area, so though that I would post here.

A little history, been deaf all of my life since birth. Some gene defect causes high frequency hearing loss. I see people on here have their audiogram in text in their signatures. I can’t say I understand them at the moment or know how to generate them. Mine starts as a level line and then drops severely into the higher frequencies. Only just recently saw the “speech banana” to understand how I don’t hear all of the "ph"s, “f”'s and “sh”'s.

Now 35, I got hearing aids when I was 30. Was like night and day. Since changing jobs though, I need better help from a hearing aid, to aid in conversation (there are more people in my office, it is much more noisy, and the nationalities and hence accents are much more diverse).

I just got some Phonak Nadia V SP on the NHS today and the Audiologist told me to come here for details on self programming.

I guess initially I’m looking to mingle with people with the same frustrations as myself as it does feel a very lonely existence in a world where thee majority of people have ears that work so take hearing for granted.

I’d then like to discover tips for my hearing aids, find out what else is available, and determine whether or not to even go down the self programming route.

I’m British by the way.

Apologies if I’ve broken any rules already, like I say, I’m new here.

:smiley:

Welcome Mondola! Glad you signed up. Under “User CP” at the top left of the webpage you can add a signature line with your audiogram. It helps us know the extent of your hearing loss of course.

Noisy offices are a problem for most HOH people in the workplace. The Nadia is a great aid but your audi’s advice to come here for details is way off base. They need to adjust the aids for you and explain all the features and details. We’ll help if we can, but our input will be much more limited than the face-to-face contact you should have with your audi.