Newbie Procrastinator or How Widex Evoke Can Win My Heart and Ears

I’m new to HA’s and have demo’ed in RIT’s in chronological order:
Otticon Opn 1 1 week Yechhh! Horrible!
Signia Styletto’s 1 week not so bad but metallic sound
Widex Evoke 440 1 month :astonished: Excellent (with qualifications see below)
Phonak Marvel 1 week Meh! (Tamborine effect above mid gain threshold)

So because sound quality is my priority I WANT WANT WANT the Widex Evoke 440’s but here is my procrastination list:

1. After purchase the clock starts ticking ≤ 45 days if I am to exchange for any expected new model release.
  2. Of the trials the Evoke’s gave me the most amount of feedback (but not unmanageable)
  3. I will order Rechargeable Z-Power knowing that it is inferior to Lithium-ion
  4. I noticed that the wire to the ear was much softer than the superior stiffer wire Phonak uses

However, if sound quality is everything then the Widex are unsurpassable.
Any comments???

1 Like

While I haven’t tried the widex hearing aids as an experienced hearing aid user, over 15 years I love the OPN1 aids. I would say your issue is that you have been without aids long enough so your brain has forgotten a lot of sounds, that happened to me and my first aids sounded like a train coming through the area all the time. My only real problem now is that I have lost so much word recognition. And I joke with my Audi that I am not hearing as much background sounds as I was hoping for.

2 Likes

We have the evokes and they are awesome. Feedback can be reduced through different options. I have never found anything to match the sound quality of Widex.

3 Likes

I have heard that from a number of people but every Audi I have spoken to at the VA clinics I have been to have all told me that due to my hearing loss I wasn’t a candidate for widex aids

1 Like

Hey CVKEMP,