New User - Questions

Hello,
I am a complete newbie with hearing aids. I am trying the ks9. I have been wearing them for two weeks. I still haven’t figured out if I’m hearing the people I struggle to hear.

Anyway, is it normal to have a constant static noise happening? It’s just very subtle, but it’s there? I was wondering if this is something I just have to deal with?

Thank you.

I can think of a couple of different possibilities. One is simply that you have become used to not hearing the lower frequencies, due to your somewhat less common hearing loss. This will just take some time to get used to. Does the static noise seem like high or low frequency?

If it is higher frequency another possibility is that the relative gain at the high frequencies is too much. There are different fitting formulas that can be used to prescribe the gain vs the frequency. Phonak probably have their own proprietary one, and there are a couple of other industry standard ones used like DSL v5, and NAL-NL2. The latter still provides some gain at higher frequencies where you hear well, while the DSL v5 provides no gain at higher frequencies. My hearing loss is very different from yours, but I would think the DSL v5 would sound a lot softer than NAL-NL2.