New User and Member - Seeking Advice/Help

Hi everyone,

I’m a new member and I am hoping to pick the brains of other users and members.

I’ve known I’ve been suffering hearing loss for a while as it has been getting much harder to hear people - particularly in my open plan office and in social settings. I went to an audiologist and he told me that I apparently have moderately severe loss in both ears. I used to work in construction with loud machinery, jackhammers, etc after I left school for around 2-3 years (this was about 35 years ago). Back in those days we knew nothing about hearing protection and never wore it.

The audi said my audiogram (I’ve uploaded it) does show noise induced hearing loss. Is anyone able to help interpret it for me please? Just how bad is my hearing loss? Is it in the frequencies typical of speech? Is my speech recognition poor?

I know people do have their own opinions about visible vs invisible hearing aids, and I asked him what was available that was as small or invisible as possible. I wasn’t worried about connectivity or streaming, so he recommended I try the Lyric 4. He fitted them and for a few days I did feel pressure while they settled. Sleeping was an issue as I could really feel them; however when out at a noisy restaurant with family, I noticed I could hear a glass clink 20 tables away but could not hear anyone talking to me from 10 feet away. I went back and he made some adjustments but to no avail. I also ended up with bleeding and severe pain in my right ear so got them removed a few days later. It was disappointing as I was really hoping they would work for me.