New to buying hearing aid ..help please

I need a CROS hearing aid . Iost all hearing on my right side and only 18 percent in my left . I was told by mircale ear I needed a CROS over hearing aid . It didnt come rechargeable and needed batteries. and it would cost a almost 6,000… I want Hearing Aids but I’m lost… Can anyone help

I’m guessing the cost is an issue. I don’t know for sure if Costco does CROS and BiCROS, but if you have one nearby, they’ll give you an honest opinion and their prices for hearing aids are great. I’m no audiologist, but I think BiCROS is what would be appropriate. Here’s a link that describes the difference. CROS and BiCROS Hearing Aids | Audiology I have no experience, but from reading the forum, people’s experience with CROS and BiCROS is mixed. It’s possible you might be happiest with just a hearing aid for the left. Assuming you aren’t a Veteran. If a Vet, contact VA first. If not a Vet and no Costco nearby, I’d see if you could get a recommendation for an independent audiologist (not affiliated with just one brand, like Miracle Ear. Do you have an ENT? If so, that would be a good person to ask. Also the Hearing Tracker site has some info on local audiologists.

1 Like

I would look into Phonak, much more affordable.

1 Like

Yes thank you I meant BICROS. Money is tight but ive been saving so I have enough but I want to make sure what I am gwtting and looking for advice from people who wear hearing aids .No offense to those that dont but it just seems to make sense to talk to people who actually wear hearing aids and know the struggles. I looked for a costco in maine and I cant find any . we have a Sam’s club and BJs. I would go through my ear nose and throat Dr but once he heard my insurance didnt cover a hearing aid he all of a sudden accused me of faking it, this after seeing me for three years and sayinf I had right sided hearing loss and did a trial of a hearing aid.