New member, longtime hearing aid user

I stumbled on this forum by accident when I was searching for info about the Oticon Epoq hearing aids last week. I’ve been wearing hearing aids for twenty years, started back when my parents finally took my hearing loss seriously, but that was because they didn’t realize the severity of it till then. Since that time I’ve had the Seimens BTEs, Starkey ITCs, and Widex Senso CICs.

I just placed an order for the Epoq BTEs on Thursday, those were the ones recommended to me by my Audiologist. I’m quite excited about them, the only drawback is that I have to have the standard hook design instead of the receiver in the ear that I was hoping to get. She said that model just didn’t have enough power for me, and I needed the hook one instead. Oh well, you have to go with what will work best for you, not what’s aesthetically pleasing.

Well I just wanted to introduce myself and I am looking forward to getting to know some of you hear on the forum.

Welcome, I’m also interested in the Epoq. Let us know your impressions with them.

As with any major $ outlay in our lives I recommend that you always get a second or third “quote”.

Buying HAs is no different to any other major purchase you make.

Do you accept the first car salesman’s quote?
Do you accept the first quote you get for life insurance/ car insurance/ home insurance?
etc etc
Shopping around with HAs could save you $100’s if not $1000’s.

Doing some Internet research could also reduce your $ outlay!

the power rite will be coming this summer.

BUT BUT, there is a catch, it takes a lot of space in the ear

and therefore, while it could be done - it is not a solution for everybody…

It is my wild guess that they will have something clasic, for children…