Need Help Deciding Between Signia, Oticon, and Phonac

Help! I’ve been wearing hearing aids (Oticon Vigo Pros) for about eight years. It’s time for new ones, but I’ve been looking for a year and a half and still feel like I don’t know anything. I’ve come the point (and way beyond) where I need to make a decision.

Can someone help me do some final comparisons? Their web sites are driving me crazy. It’s close to impossible to compare their various models and even to find a simple list of their features. (Like a needle in a haystack.)

I just finished a trial of Signia Motion 13 Nx hearing aids with a Streamline Mic and an Android phone. Signia is my audiologist’s preference, but he sells all brands and is very much open to suggestion.

If I stay with Signia, I would prefer a rechargeable model. It looks like the only rechargeable one they make is Pure Charge&Go Nx. Can someone tell me:

1. Is it comparable to the Motion 13 Nx as far as features and quality?
  2. Is it a RIC or BTE model?
  3. Can regular batteries be used if you’re away from the charger?

I’m also looking for Oticon and Phonak models that would satisfy those same criteria. Can you tell me which ones would qualify?

Thanks very much in advance for the education!

The Phonak BR is a sealed rechargable. No user change to disposable batteries allowed.

According to the website the Motion 13 Nx is BTE and the Pure Charge & Go Nx is a wireless rechargable RIC type. It does not look like they provide an option for the user to change to disposable batteries either but it was not clearly spelled out. If you go to the professional part of the website signia-pro.com you can download a brochure to compare the features.

If your audiologist is more familiar with Signia programming they may do a better job with Signia. If you are used to the Signia sound you may also find it more pleasing.

1 Like