Narrow frequency response vs. cellphone convenience?

I’m new here, first let me introduce myself.

I’ve had a moderate binaural hearing loss all my life (60 dBHL @ 4khz, better in all other hz). When I as 8 years old (1983 or so) I had a single BTE which I hated and refused to use. When I was 12 years old the Norwegian healthcare system stuck a pair of CTC’s in my ears with no followup care. The poor fit, squawking, amplification of background noises, disgusting ear wax buildup and inconvenience contributed to my decision not to use them. Again, my hearing loss was not profound so I had the luxury of going without.

Since then I have not used hearing aids. I earned a college degree (and a half), worked ten years in software development and married a wonderful woman who put effort into speaking clearly and enunciating words correctly (her mother was an english teacher :smiley: ). However, a recent career change has put me in front of customers from all over the world and communicating with them is becomming difficult. I can deal with poor spelling and grammar skills but it is difficult (and inconvenient) to constantly ask others to repeat themselves due to heavy accents, both regional and national. Don’t get me started about those who mumble and speak too softly, or even whisper. I also spend a lot of time on my cellphone.

Anyway, my point is that I am once again in the market for hearing aids, and I am starting to get frustrated with the inability to find the ‘right’ hearing aid for me. I have been working with a local audiologist who seems knowledgeable about hearing loss but doesn’t seem to know much about the latest hearing aids, so I am doing much of this research myself. Getting information without the audiologist is slow and painful.

I have two concerns.