My new Seimans Touching - a success story

For quite awhile my wife kept saying that I needed a hearing aid, and I would respond that she was just mumbling.

Well I visited an audiologist at Kaiser, and found out, that I really did need a hearing aid, but I went into shock over the typical prices people are paying them. I asked myself “what to people of limited income in poor countries buy.” Searching the internet and lurking on different forums brought me to the very inexpensive Siemens Touching from China. I figured that for less than $90.00 shipped from a warehouse in California I would give it a try. If it was junk, I would not be out much.

The hearing aid arrived within 3 days of placing the order on Ebay. It appeared to be a quality product, and it was very easy to cut the plastic tube and fit it to my ear. I made two adjustments to the tiny trimmer and it worked great! I am happy, my wife is happy, and being a ham radio operator, I have talked to many people about it, and probably generated another 10 or more customers for it.

After about 3 months of use I decided that I would like to try a custom ear mold. When I called around no one wanted my business, because I didn’t buy the hearing aid from them. I guess they were making way too much money to bother with a little extra business, so it was back to the internet where I found Lloyd Hearing Aid Corp. For a very reasonable price, they sent me a kit with enough stuff to make 2 impressions of my ear. I sent it all back, and a little over week later I had my new custom ear mold which fits my ear perfectly. I also ordered some spare tubes for it so now I am good for a long time. The ear mold just made my Siemens Touching even better. As a side note, I am getting almost three weeks life from the Radio Shack batteries.

Are there better hearing aids out there? absolutely, but not better enough to me to justify the incredible cost difference.