My First Week With KS6

DD need not reply

First time user, have Costco KS6 w Phone Clip, and over all pleased but not thrilled. . I have not been back in for first adjustment. My biggest issue is a Metallic sound and some delay. The sound of crumpling paper, plastic and like things is deafening loud. Even running water like a flush of the toilet is shocking. With the high frequencies is very distorted. Best way I can describe it is if you were to take a sheet of aluminum foil, stretch it tight, and then drop a lot BB’s on it.

The phone Clip does work and does what it says it will do, but sound quality is poor at best. Again to sharp or metallic. Any music produces the same with now low or mid range frequencies. Being an Electrical Engineer I have a clue what is going on, high frequency level is too high. With Open fit domes I know low frequencies are poor. My hearing is good from 50 to 1500 Hz. So I am not sure exactly what can be done to enhance low and mid frequencies other than turn down high frequencies and run louder volume.

As for speaking the HA’s do a good job. I can hear birds again in the distance. Just anything that pops, clicks, or impulse sound all sound the same like BB’s hitting and bouncing on tin foil.

Hi,

as you hear well in the low frequencies, it is normal to some extent that you feel the high frequencies “sharp”, because those are the ones that you are not used to. After you are used to the aid, you will find the high frequencies muffled when you take it out and the sound with the aid “natural”.

Impulse: There probably is an impulse reduction, ask for it in the next session.